Healthcare Fire Safety Instructors

In Los Angeles, all healthcare workers are required to complete a fire safety training course. All healthcare workers must receive this training, whether you work in a hospital, skilled nursing facility or retirement home.  


Upon completion of an HFSI class, participants will receive both a blue and pink fire card.

What is a fire card?

We're glad you asked!

In Los Angeles, the Los Angeles Fire Department (LAFD) requires all hospital employees  to complete 6 hours of fire and safety training  every 4 years. A blue training certification card is issued upon completion. 


Those who work in retirement homes, skilled nursing or psychiatric facilities are required to attend a 3-hour training program every 2 years and will receive a pink certification card. 

This training is required to be done in a classroom environment and the instructor must possess a valid Certificate of Fitness to instruct issued by the Los Angeles Fire Department (LAFD).

Beware of those who offer this course online as that is not an LAFD approved program.

Pink card training is needed more often because these locations are not built as safe as hospitals. In addition,  rescue carry refresh training is needed more often because of the patient occupancy.

At HSFI, both fire cards are issued at the end of class!

Blue Fire Cards

Hospital employees must take 6-hour training course every 4 years. A blue fire card is issued & must read "hospital fire/life safety training".

Pink  Fire Cards

Employees at psychiatric hospitals & convalescent homes get 3 hours of training every 2 years. A pink fire card is issued & must read "institutional fire/life safety training".

We Know You Have Choices

Is HSFI right for you?

© 2020 HFSI Healthcare Fire Safety Instructors

  • Facebook